About the Margaret River Wine Association

The Margaret River Wine Association (MRWA) is the peak body for Margaret River grape growers and winemakers. It was established in the late 1970’s as the Margaret River Grape Growers & Winemakers Association and was incorporated in 1982.

In 1996 the Association registered a geographic boundary for the region and the Margaret River became one of the first three wine regions in Australia to have its boundaries legally defined as a Geographical Indication (GI) by the Australian government.

The charter of the Association has remained constant over the years; primarily to represent the interests of the Margaret River wine industry and promote Margaret River fine wine.

The MRWA is an independent, non-profit organisation, financed by its members with additional funding sourced from corporate members, sponsorship and grants. MRWA has more than 165 industry members and 50 associated Grape Grower and Commercial members.

Our Vision

Margaret River is recognised amongst the world’s most compelling fine wine experiences.

Our Mission

Create value for members by providing relevant, effective support and high-quality services.

Our Organisational Values

Excellence, Collaboration, Sustainability, Transparency

Strategic Plan

MRWA operates against the Constitution of the Margaret River Wine Association and a Strategic Plan. The current Constitution was reviewed and updated in May 2019 and the Strategic Plan was released in October 2016 (reviewed in June 2019). Both are available to members upon request and in the Member Area.

Our Organisational Structure

The affairs of the Association are governed by a Board on behalf of members of the MRWA. The Board consist of the office bearers; Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer together with sufficient members to bring the numbers of the Board to a maximum of ten members. Seven are elected by the membership and a further three Board members may be appointed to the Board at any time for up to a term of two years.

Currently the Board Chair is an independent, appointed role (i.e. not MRWA members). The Association employs a Chief Executive Officer and a Communication & Events Manager full-time.

MRWA Board

The 2019/2020 Board members are:

Greg Wall – Independent Board Chair
Georgina Beniston – Vasse Felix
Mike Calneggia – Calneggia Family Vineyards
Leah Clearwater – Happs
Paul Dargue – Evans & Tate
John Fogarty – Deep Woods Estate
Belinda Hopkins – Juniper Estate
Steve James – Voyager Estate
Liz Mencel – Flametree Wines
Ben Miller – Devil’s Lair

Click here for Board contacts.

MRWA Staff

The Margaret River Wine Association office is staffed by:

Amanda Whiteland – Chief Executive Officer, [email protected]
Pip Heaford – Communications & Events Manager, [email protected]

Life Members

The Margaret River Wine Association recognises individuals who have made significant contributions to the wine industry. Each of the following were presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award at a Margaret River Wine Show Gala Dinner.

The Association and all in Margaret River are extremely grateful for the passion and commitment these individuals have given to this region.

2019 – John Evans
2019 – John Tate
2018 – Dr Tom Cullity
2018 – Bob Cartwright
2018 – John Brocksopp
2012 – Ian & Ani Lewis
2011 – Dr Kevin Cullen
2010 – David & Heather Watson
2010 – Bill Jamieson
2009 – David & Ann Gregg
2009 – David Hohnen
2008 – Denis & Tricia Horgan
2007 – Dr John Gladstones
2003 – Erl Happ
2002 – Di Cullen
2001 – Bruce Tomlinson
2000 – John James

Margaret River Wine Number Plates

For Western Australian registered vehicles the Margaret River Wine Association is offering special prices “MRW” number plates:

  • Plate numbers 020 to 099 normally $430.00 now $355.00
  • Plate numbers 20 to 999 normally $410.00 now $320.00
  • All other plates are POA

All plates are subject to availability, please contact the Margaret River Wine Association office to check for your lucky numbers.

If you are interested in this special offer, please complete the forms below and return to the Margaret River Wine Association listing your 3 preferences in the space provided. We will advise you of the number allocated to you. Please ensure you include your contact and payment details.

These number plates are a great way to show your love of the Margaret River wine brand.


MRWA Number Plates Order Form