About Us

The Margaret River Wine Association was started by a group of winemakers in the late 1970’s.  The Margaret River Grape Growers & Winemakers Association as it was known then, was incorporated in 1982 and at that time had only a handful of members.

The charter of the Association has remained constant over the years – primarily to represent the interests of the Margaret River wine industry and promote Margaret River wine.  The Association was one of the first groups in Australia to register a geographic boundary for our region in 1996 and Margaret River was one of the first three wine regions in Australia to have its boundaries legally defined by the Australian government.

On behalf of Margaret River Wine Association members the Board is explicitly responsible for the governance, stewardship and future well-being of the Association and the progressive attainment of its constitutional objectives whose overarching strategic focus and intent being:  “To consistently position Margaret River as one of the world’s most compelling regional fine wine experiences.”


The Margaret River Wine Association is lead by an elected Board made up of members of the Association.

Current 2017/2018 Board members are as follows:

Independent Chair: Hon Barry House
Vice Chair: Matt Credaro – Credaro Family Estate
Treasurer: Cameron Murphy – Cape Mentelle (Acting)
Secretary: Liz Mencel – Flametree Wines
Cath Oates – Oates Ends
Glenn Goodall – Xanadu Wines
Steve James – Voyager Estate
Julian Grounds – McHenry Hohnen Wines

Association Office & Staff

The Margaret River Wine Association office is staffed as follows:

Amanda Whiteland
Marketing Director

Pip Heaford
Communications & Events Manager

Sue Jackman
Finance Officer

Our physical office is located in the town of Margaret River at the following address:

Margaret River Wine Association
Upstairs above reception at Darby Park Serviced Apartments
6 Tunbridge Street Margaret River WA 6285

Postal details: PO Box 204 Margaret River WA 6285

Email: mrwa@margaretriver.wine
Telephone: +61 8 9757 9330


Please note that we do not handle employment.

If you are looking for work in the Margaret River Wine Region please contact the following agencies:

For vineyard work in other regions please visit www.wgga.com.au/winegrape-sales/online-information-source/employment-opportunities


Margaret River Busselton Tourism Association – www.margaretriver.com

Australia’s South West – www.australiassouthwest.com


Langton’s Wine Auctions and Exchange

For charts to assist in selecting the best wines based on vintages, variety, price and past performance of a winery.